If I was even slightly superstitious, any mention of drought-breaking rainfall predictions I’d avoid like the plague. But in all honesty, it’s difficult not to get excited when you see articles like this, which go as far as to predict a La Niña effect to start later this year.

I hope the Southern Oscillation Index doesn’t swing too far into positive territory though, because it will mean higher chance of flooding on the East-coast and higher chance of drought in South America, or such is my rudimentary understanding. We are sustained by a tight balance of conditions and the planet’s ability to cope with extraordinary circumstances is only so powerful.

I also hope that drought-breaking rain isn’t attributed to the government’s policy on water management, if that happens they might be able to go into the election campaign claiming they’re on a mission from God!